Categories
Epsom

Digital Footprint: Ideas for the Internet

Hi Epsomians!

Mr Barker recently featured my blog in an assembly, so here’s an article to expand on that.

Enhance your digital footprint with starting a blog! I think it would be one of my most important achievements in Sixth Form. Read on…

Why Start a Blog?

  • It provides a curated space for all your works and further supercurricular reading.
  • A blog serves as written proof that is easily accessible online.
  • When you write your Personal Statement, you’ll have a great starting point to mention your blog and all your interests. I even linked my blog in my personal statement!
  • Helps you find ideas – my blog is like a motivational catalyst, pushing me to stay well-read and be proud of showcasing my work.
  • Cool conversation starter
  • Good interview material for universities, it’s something to talk about

Where do I start?

  • Google’s Blogger is still around after all these years, and is a nifty option with the least set-up effort.
  • A little more recent and polished option is Google Sites, which was used to create Epsom’s IGLE website.
  • If you like unlimited customisations and extra features, try Wordpress. You can either use Wordpress’ hosting plan, or host it yourself using a separate server, which requires a bit more technical knowledge. I used the latter option to create a website for the ECiM Science Research Club.
  • Some premium options include Wix and Squarespace.
More technical info (If you’re curious as to how I made this blog)
  • I coded this website using a static site generator (SSG), Hugo, connected it to a Content Management System (CMS). I used Forestry as my CMS, and hosted it on Netlify.
  • This blog was a modification of an existing theme, where I tinkered with the CSS and HTML to allow for displaying maths equations and menus.
  • SSGs need to be deployed by a hosting service. To ease management of your blog, use a CMS.
  • It definitely sounds like a lot, but it is a great skill to learn! Simply put, static sight generators are a more efficient way to produce simple sites on the internet. They have a reduced set of features and no support for server-end backing, limiting features such as user accounts.
  • There are many tutorials on YouTube documenting how to create a blog with a static site generators such as Eleventy, Gatsby, and more.